Checking in on a sunny 31 degree day!

18 Feb

I’ve been working on self-improvement for almost a month and a half in 2013 and I thought a little reflection on how I’m doing would be a good idea. It’s hard to focus on goals and self-improvement when there is so much fun stuff going on in life! Here I am, mildly employed, and I still find myself scrapping the barrel for time to get everything done. A check-in is required:

I did yoga 3 times this past week. I think my calves have a hardness level between fluorite and quartz, which is not bad considering I rad 22 miles on Saturday. I finished reading A Song of  Fire and Ice Book 5; it required an intensive 12 hour slogg but I had lots of MSG in my system post Chinese New Year so being horizontal and digesting was a-okay with me. (I also saw Silver Linings Playbook – is the origin of “O.K.” really from the “Old Kinderhook Club”?) I’m now reading Six Easy Pieces, a book capturing a few of the novel examples of renowned physicist Richard Feynman. I’m trying to decide if there is some way I can merge my self-instruction of physics with a month long hike in the woods this spring. Describing nature with math and science definitely seem to be an option…

Image

 

I also really like the style of explanation and lecture that the MIT professor, Walter Lewin, uses in the videos available on MIT’s open courseware. My brother once told me that you get equally wet if you walk slowly in the rain or quickly in the rain (slowly, you are outside longer but less rain is hitting the front of your body at an angle, and quickly you are outside less time but running ‘into’ more rain and thus getting equally wet). My brother was not entirely right. He was probably also 12 years old when he told me this. Prof. Lewin explains how wet one gets walking in the rain, and makes it simple and interesting, too!

Last thoughts on the check-in front: I’m going to stick to a vegetarian and at-times-vegan diet for the next few weeks. I think it would be an extra cleanse for February and I’d like to pay more attention to putting organic, local, and healthy stuff in my body. I was re-inspired after listening to one of my favorite groups live at the Ark! Elephant Revival‘s song ‘Drop of Water’ always gets me thinking of life on the molecular level…

One Response to “Checking in on a sunny 31 degree day!”

  1. stacy February 21, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    I heard once that the origin of O.K. was from wwI- if soldiers were coming back from battle and there were 0 killed, then it was O.K.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

