the 1st of many ‘phases’

15 Jul

 

 

The capital city, where I will live for PST!

The capital city, where I will live for PST!

Boston. Peace Corps Pre-Training Staging. Now I am officially a TRAINEE. (I considered this my major recent accomplishment during icebreakers.)

At 10 pm tomorrow I’ll be flying with 28 other-that’s right, 28, a much bigger group than I expected-trainees to Praia, Cape Verde. Yahoo! There I will be a trainee for 9 weeks before being officially sworn in as a PCV (Peace Corps Volunteer). The PC loves to use acronyms, so if nothing else, writing a snazzy dictionary of their terminology could be my Post-Service career choice…

The Cape Verde crew is large and awesome. There are a few couples, a few older trainees, a few fresh n’ green out-of-college trainees, and everyone is interesting and reacting differently to this pre-departure phase. (I am jumping into my dorky, ‘a mother’s-best-friend’, mode. Leading groups, taking notes, taking names… ) Major coincidence thus far: there is a guy here, Adenymai, who went to Huron High school, in ANN ARBOR, that’s where I went to high school! Same graduating class and everything. Go figure, I move to another continent and the world gets smaller! 

Well, I’m off to repack the luggage and plan some more ‘snappy business casual‘ outfits (a.k.a. business casual in more colors than grey, blue, tan, and black). Wish me luck!

 Here is the address for you to send tea, tickle-me-  elmos, love, freezer-dried ice cream, and a snail mail  letter, because those are always fun. 

  Leah Tai, PCT
  A/C Corpo da Paz
  C.P. 373 – Praia
  Republic of Cape Verde
  (Par Avion/Air Mail and Via Portugal)
 
ALSO: They say to number mail so we can see if a letter went missing…
 

1,000 Escudos

1,000 Escudos

2 Responses to “the 1st of many ‘phases’”

  1. Philip J. Hegg July 21, 2008 at 9:18 am #

    Well, you are truly amazing to me. I have seen and met some amazing people over the years and you are one of them. I am very proud of you for the work you are about to do. I think you are one of the bravest people I know because you are enbarking on a journey with no-idea how things work out.
    But that is cool, it’s amazing. I am looking forward to hearing about your trip and I wish you all the best.
    Take care,

    Your Cousin.

  2. Abbey July 21, 2008 at 10:01 am #

    Hey honeyface, I’m sorry we didn’t see each other too but by the same token, I knew you were getting the jitters and would probably need to see as few people as possible to send yourself off with the right frame of mind. It sounds like life is exciting, new and fresh for you right now, though, and how fun it must be to be starting something that has to do with what you love and that will help other people immensely. I still selfishly miss you. Oh well. I’ll send you an AA postcard from time to time to remind you of the townies you’ve left behind 🙂

    Much love!
    Abbey

Leave a Reply

