Tumba Turo

25 Jul

Just a quick post to say; I am here. In a small village outside of Assomada which has a bread store and a minimarcado, plus a school and youth center which are closed because it is summer time.

Right now I am learning Kriolu, the Cape Verdean language. Aside from studying and getting to know my host family, I have learned to wash dishes with as little water as possible (laba lusa), hand wash my clothes (bati ropa), and farm beans and corn (monda papia). It has been amazing, although difficult to contact home. The people I have met are all so nice and welcoming and excited to meet us!

Ti logu!

2 Responses to “Tumba Turo”

  1. danny August 4, 2008 at 12:53 pm #

    so i take it internet connections are hard to come by in cape verde?

  2. Pam Mason August 5, 2008 at 4:25 pm #

    Hi Leah,
    I am Penny Stump’s sister and have met you and Dan several times at Mimi’s house on Lake Michigan…anyway…your mother and Penny told me about your wonderful trip and blog and I begged them to send me the site….I have just spent a DELIGHTFUL time reading your adventures, laughing at your wonderfully witty writing and both marveling and envying you. Don’t ever take up just sitting and meditating – even those you don’t know well would miss the life and times of Leah!

    Love to you and let the adventures continue…
    Pam

Leave a Reply

